Invoke-VMShutdown - Parameters, Start-VM - test-wmijob

Nov 14, 2009 at 5:13 PM
Edited Nov 14, 2009 at 5:14 PM

Hello all,

I'm new with the PS Library for Hyper-V and already took a look in the pdf-doc. But I'm not able to get my needs scripted. One thing first: sorry for my newbieness.

Background / planned scenario:

One Script which pauses or shuts down all running VMs [before backup task] 

get-vm -running | Invoke-VMShutdown machinexx -Wait

One Script which resumes or starts all not running VMs [after backup task] (Is there a way to determine all not running VMs)

get-vm -running | Start-VM machinexx -Wait

The first error I get is that something must be wrong with the parameter "-wait" -> how to exactly use this ?

The second "error" appears when I try to start a VM out of an "off-state":

WARNUNG: The job to Change state of VM xpjob1 to Running  is still running in the background.
 You can check its progress with Test-wmiJob or Test-wmiJob -statusOnly using
the following job id:
\\TGKFR710\root\virtualization:Msvm_ConcreteJob.InstanceID="B18C8110-F31F-4395-8141-CD51FADD451F"

OK trying to check the progress of the running job i do the following:

test-wmijob \\TGKFR710\root\virtualization:Msvm_ConcreteJob.InstanceID="B18C8110-F31F-4395-8141-CD51FADD451F"

error: Test-WMIJob : Die Argumenttransformation für den Parameter "Job" kann nicht ver
arbeitet werden. Der Wert "\\TGKFR710\root\virtualization:Msvm_ConcreteJob.Inst
anceID=B18C8110-F31F-4395-8141-CD51FADD451F" kann nicht in den Typ "System.Mana
gement.ManagementObject" konvertiert werden. Fehler: "Der Parameter ist ungülti
g. "
Bei Zeile:1 Zeichen:12
+ Test-WMIJob <<<<  \\TGKFR710\root\virtualization:Msvm_ConcreteJob.InstanceID=
"B18C8110-F31F-4395-8141-CD51FADD451F"
    + CategoryInfo          : InvalidData: (:) [Test-WMIJob], ParameterBindin.
   ..mationException
    + FullyQualifiedErrorId : ParameterArgumentTransformationError,Test-WMIJob